ARCs I Received from Netgalley #4

And we are back again with the 4th installment in my ARC series! This is a series I do every couple of months to half a year on my blog where I talk about the books I was approved to read on Netgalley. This series has been a staple for my blog for the last year or so and I get excited every time I get an approval email from the website. So let’s not waste anymore time!

My hope is to read all the books on the month they are published but we shall see…

All information comes from Netgalley and the respective publishers. Might be subject to change. I am letting you know about these books purely because I am excited to see them, there is no affiliation with publishers or Netgalley itself.

  • Title: The Art of Dying
  • Author: Ambrose Parry
  • Publisher: Black Thorn
  • Publishing Date: 07.01.21
  • Genre: Historical Fiction & Murder Mystery
  • Series: Raven, Fisher and Simpson #2

Synopsis: Edinburgh, 1849. Hordes of patients are dying all across the city, with doctors finding their remedies powerless. And a whispering campaign seeks to paint Dr James Simpson, pioneer of medical chloroform, as a murderer. Determined to clear Simpson’s name, his protégé Will Raven and former housemaid Sarah Fisher must plunge into Edinburgh’s deadliest streets and find out who or what is behind the deaths. Soon they discover that the cause of the deaths has evaded detection purely because it is so unthinkable.

  • Title: Brother Red
  • Author: Adrian Selby
  • Publisher: Orbit
  • Publishing Date: 28.01.21
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Series: Standalone

Synopsis: When the trade caravan Driwna Marghoster was hired to protect is attacked, she discovers a dead body hidden inside a barrel. Born of the powerful but elusive Oskoro people, the body is a rare and priceless find, the centre of a tragic tale and the key to a larger mystery… For when Driwna investigates who the body was meant for, she will find a trail of deceit and corruption which could bring down a kingdom, and an evil more powerful than she can imagine.

  • Title: Bullet Train
  • Author: Kotaro Isaka
  • Publisher: Harvill Secker
  • Publishing Date: 11.03.21
  • Genre: Thriller
  • Series: Standalone

Synopsis: Satoshi looks like an innocent schoolboy but he is really a viciously cunning psychopath. Kimura’s young son is in a coma thanks to him, and Kimura has tracked him onto the bullet train heading from Tokyo to Morioka to exact his revenge. But Kimura soon discovers that they are not the only dangerous passengers onboard. Nanao, the self-proclaimed ‘unluckiest assassin in the world’, and the deadly partnership of Tangerine and Lemon are also travelling to Morioka. A suitcase full of money leads others to show their hands. Why are they all on the same train, and who will get off alive at the last station?

  • Title: The Plague Letters
  • Author: V.L. Valentine
  • Publisher: Viper
  • Publishing Date: 01.04.21
  • Genre: Historical Fiction & Murder Mystery
  • Series: Standalone

Synopsis: London, 1665. Hidden within a growing pile of corpses, one victim of the pestilence stands out: a young woman with a shorn head and pieces of twine delicately tied around each ankle. Symon Patrick, rector of St. Paul’s Covent Garden, cannot say exactly why this corpse amongst the many in his churchyard should give him pause. Longing to do good, he joins a group of medical men who have gathered to find a cure for the plague, each man more peculiar and splenetic than the next. But there is another, unknown to The Society for the Prevention and Cure of Plague, who is performing his own terrible experiments upon unwilling plague-ridden subjects. It is Penelope – Symon’s unwanted yet unremovable addition to his household – who may yet shed light on the matter. Far more than what she appears, she is already on the hunt. But the dark presence that enters the houses of the sick will not stop, and has no mercy… 

  • Title: Ariadne
  • Author: Jennifer Saint
  • Publisher: Wildfire
  • Publishing Date: 29.04.21
  • Genre: Feminist Re-telling & Mythology
  • Series: Standalone

Synopsis: As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the Minotaur echo from the Labyrinth beneath the palace. The Minotaur – Minos’s greatest shame and Ariadne’s brother – demands blood every year. When Theseus, Prince of Athens, arrives in Crete as a sacrifice to the beast, Ariadne falls in love with him. But helping Theseus kill the monster means betraying her family and country, and Ariadne knows only too well that in a world ruled by mercurial gods – drawing their attention can cost you everything. In a world where women are nothing more than the pawns of powerful men, will Ariadne’s decision to betray Crete for Theseus ensure her happy ending? Or will she find herself sacrificed for her lover’s ambition?

  • Title: The Decagon House Murders
  • Author: Yukito Ayatsuji
  • Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
  • Publishing Date: 25.05.21
  • Genre: Murder Mystery
  • Series: Standalone

Synopsis: The lonely, rockbound island of Tsunojima is notorious as the site of a series of bloody unsolved murders. Some even say it’s haunted. One thing’s for sure: it’s the perfect destination for the K-University Mystery Club’s annual trip. But when the first club member turns up dead, the remaining amateur sleuths realise they will need all of their murder-mystery expertise to get off the island alive. As the party are picked off one by one, the survivors grow desperate and paranoid, turning on each other. Will anyone be able to untangle the murderer’s fiendish plan before it’s too late?

There you go! A very exciting year up ahead! I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s